Skip to content

Jean Rug- The Middle Is The End

November 19, 2016

So, now, the exciting part- the end of a project! (I honestly never thought this day would come. I spent more than a month on this- and it got finished too! Never happens to me. 🙂 Here’s the original blog post.

So, anyway, you’ll remember that the only thing left to do is attach a middle! And you could do anything, like plain jean, or a pocket, but Mom didn’t want a pocket, and since it’s for her birthday, I agreed. Besides, concentric circles is so much cooler than a pocket could ever be!

So, step one? Finding something to make a pattern with. I found a little hula hoop that was just bigger than the hole, a large bowl that was slightly smaller than that, and a little plate to be the smallest circle.

Then I traced them onto butcher paper (which I no longer hoard, since we have a whole roll of it now) to make a pattern.

dscn2828

 

I cut the centers out of the two larger circles to make rings, then folded them into fourths.

dscn2831

 

I cut all of the pieces (four quarters for each ring, plus the center) out of leftover jean fabric (which I didn’t throw away).

dscn2833

dscn2834

 

Then, I stitched the middle ring together

dscn2839

 

and the outer ring together,

dscn2843

 

then zig zag stitched the center piece to the middle ring

dscn2845

dscn2849

 

 

and the center and middle ring to the outer ring.

 

dscn2851

I wanted the rings to not quite line up to add ‘visual interest’ (and to look cooler).

Then I stitched them into the rug and sewed up the last seam.

 

dscn2852

 

Lastly, I hemmed it.

dscn2854

 

And there you go! A beautiful jean rug! Large too. 🙂

dscn2856

dscn2859

dscn2855

I hope you enjoyed this series on how I made Mom’s birthday present!

Tune in next week to learn what I did with the leftover fabric. (You can’t waste any of it, you know, we paid nearly two dollars per pair of jeans! XD)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 20, 2017 12:42 am

    This looks amazing! Great job! 🙂
    ~Gracie

Leave a Reply

