Skip to content

Leftover Fabric- Jean Purse

November 21, 2016

So, after I made the jean rug I told you about last week, I had some leftover fabric.

dscn2862

A jumble of pieces, really. I’d cut out panels from the middle of the legs, and left the sides, since there wasn’t enough fabric for another panel. I also hadn’t done anything with the waists (except one I cut the pockets and waistband off to make a purse for my little cousin), so I had a pile of those too.  So, I grabbed the strips leftover from the sides and started laying them out, just to see what would happen.

dscn2864

Huh. I could get a whole sheet of fabric out of these little strips.

dscn2867

Well, except for that.

dscn2868

That works. Now, what can I do with this sheet?

dscn2872

Well, if I fold it over and add a bottom…

dscn2875

And a handle…

dscn2881

dscn2890

I could have…

dscn2887

a purse! And now, wouldn’t it look cool…

dscn2882

if I sewed a pocket onto it? Thought so.

It’s a bit wonky, and one side is higher than the other, but for  a scrap project, I think it’s pretty cool.

And of course, by the time I finished this, I realized that I had a whole pile of my own jeans, just waiting for me to make something with them. But what? 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

